Wyoming Drunk Driving Accident Attorneys
The crime of driving while under influence of intoxicating liquor or controlled substances (commonly referred to as DWUI in Wyoming but known as DUI or DWI in other jurisdictions) is established under Wyoming Statute § 31-5-233. Motorists who are convicted of violating this law face stiff criminal penalties.
One of the major reasons for the enactment of drunk driving laws nationwide was the intent to reduce the number of accidents caused by intoxicated motorists. Drunk driving crashes frequently result in very serious or even fatal injuries.
Victims of these accidents can be entitled to compensation from the drivers, but not the parties that served them alcohol. DWUI criminal cases are completely separate from personal injury claims, which are civil actions. Convictions in criminal cases may be used as evidence against drivers in civil actions, but a driver who is acquitted of drunk driving charges can still be held civilly liable.
Wyoming Drunk Driving Laws
Wyoming Statute § 31-5-233(b) states that a person cannot drive or have actual physical control of a vehicle if he or she either has an alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or is under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, or a combination of both to a degree which makes him or her incapable of safely driving. Under Wyoming Statute § 31-5-233(c), a person who has an alcohol concentration of 0.05 percent is presumed not to be under the influence of alcohol.
Unfortunately, Wyoming does not allow victims of drunk driving crashes to file dram shop or social host liability claims. Dram shop laws refer to statutes in other jurisdictions that allow victims to seek compensation from vendors such as bars or restaurants that served intoxicated patrons who caused motor vehicle accidents (dram shop refers to the establishments in 18th Century England that sold alcohol by units called drams). Similarly, social host laws in other states allow victims to seek damages from private parties that served alcohol to intoxicated people that caused car crashes.
In fact, Wyoming Statute § 12-8-301(a) provides that any party that legally provided alcoholic liquor or malt beverage to another person cannot be held liable for damages caused by the intoxicated person.
While third parties might not be liable, negligent drivers can be held accountable and victims can be entitled to significant damages. In addition to economic damages for tangible losses such as medical bills and lost wages as well as noneconomic damages like loss of consortium and pain and suffering, victims may also be entitled to punitive damages—additional awards that are intended specifically to punish negligent parties for particularly reckless or egregious conduct and dissuade other parties from engaging in similar behavior.
Wyoming DUI Accident Lawyer
Did you suffer catastrophic injuries or was your loved one killed in an accident caused by a drunk driver in Wyoming? You will want to contact Need an Injury Attorney Wyoming as soon as possible.
Our firm is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week and handles cases on a contingency fee basis so clients do not pay anything without receiving financial awards. Our experienced personal injury lawyers provide a free, no-obligation consultation at which we can review your case and help you understand all of your legal options.